Eight schools have now confirmed their spots in the second round of the ISSA/Wata DaCosta Cup football competition after three more punched their tickets after Saturday’s weather-affected round of return round games.

Former champions Cornwall College and Irwin High from Zone A and Paul Bogle High from Zone K will be in the draw for the second round.

They join Rusea’s High and Frome Technical from Zone B, Morant Bay High from Zone K, Garvey Maceo from Zone M, and Happy Grove from Zone N.

Two teams have also ensured they will win their zones- Garvey Maceo and Happy Grove.

Cornwall College repeated their first round 3-1 victory over Green Pond High, avenging a loss at home last season, and maintained their lead in Zone A with 20 points.

Travis Gordon and Deshaun Talbert from the penalty spot gave Cornwall College a quick 2-0 lead inside 10 minutes before Garth-Dane Bromwell pulled one back for Green Pond from the penalty spot to make the score 2-1 at halftime.

Zone A

Rank Teams Points Played Won Drawn For Against Goal difference
1 Cornwall College 26 10 8 2 22 5 17
2 Irwin 22 10 6 4 17 4 13
3 St. James 14 10 4 2 14 13 1
4 Maldon 10 10 3 1 13 20 -7
5 Green Pond 8 10 2 2 15 18 -3
6 Spot Valley 4 10 1 1 8 29 -21
Zone Winner - Team advances to next round
2nd Place - Team advances to next round

Second-half substitute Javain Barnes restored Cornwall College’s to goals advantage in the 75th minute.

Leo Campbell scored in his fifth straight game, and Nicholus Samuels scored for Irwin High as they ended St James High’s slim hopes of getting one of the two automatic spots with a 2-0 win and moved to 18 points.

Paul Bogle High were ruthless with a 16-0 mauling of Robert Lightbourne High after beating them 10-0 in the first round.

Demani Gordon scored seven goals, and Roshane Thomas scored four times.

Garvey Maceo were 3-0 winners over second-placed Vere Technical, their sixth win of the season, to increase their lead to nine points, 19 to 10.

Delano Thompson, Jelani Williams, and Devaugn Williams scored for Garvey Maceo, who had won their first-round game over Vere Tech 4-0.

Three other schools who could have also advanced with wins, St Elizabeth Technical High, Cedric Titus High, and Tacky High, had their games affected by bad weather, and efforts were being made to continue those games early next week.

Glenmuir High could also advance but were held 1-1 by Central High, last season’s beaten finalists, who moved into joint second place with Denbigh High, both on 10 points.

Defending champions, Clarendon College had another goal fest as they hammered Claude McKay High 15-0 to extend their perfect win record to seven games.

Keheim Dixon led the way with five goals, Malachi Douglas scored three while three players got two each- Christopher Hull, Nicholi Forbes, and Tedale Williams.

Dinthill Technical is also perfect with five wins after a 7-0 beating of Charlemont High, with three players scoring two goals each: Giovanni Afflick, Gaybriel Anderson, and Tyrese Gowe while Tameish Richardson scored the other goal.

Old Harbour High also scored in double digits with a 16-0 trouncing of Porus High .

Black River High moved into joint lead with Mannings School in Zone D on 13 points after a 2-1 win over Grange Hill.