McGrath High became the third first time winner of the ISSA Ben Francis Cup in the last fur years after they prevailed 1-0 over former champions Frome Technical in the final played at the national stadium on Saturday.

Dontae Anderson beat goalkeeper Oral Davis at his near right post early in the second half as McGrath High became the 15th school to win the competition that started in 1982 and the third team from St Catherine to lift the cup, joining Old Harbour High and Charlemont High.

They were also the third first time winners of the Cup in the last four years since the format was changed to exclude team in the daCosta Cup semi-finals.

Charlemont High won the Knock-out title in 2018 followed by BB Coke in 2019; Edwin Allen High won in 2021 while Glenmuir High won their seventh Ben Francis title last year.

After a goal-less first half, McGrath wasted no time in the second half as after picking off a pass near half line, the ball was passed to Anderson on the left flank and he raced away to fire past Davis in the 50th minute.

Frome Tech came close to drawing level late in the game but an acrobatic save by defender Isaac Mason who cleared the ball off his line with an acrobatic overhead kick preserved their lead and the Cup.