By Aubrey Campbell Fort Lauderdale, FL. Monday, December 12, 2016 –
A team comprising schoolboy soccer players from the Manning and daCosta Cup competitions will be looking to restore some lost pride when they compete in the annual youth classic tournament, here in south Florida, from Thursday thru’ Sunday, December 15-18, at the Lauderhill Sports Complex, Florida.

The Jamaican selection, comprising the better if not the best from the revered schoolboy contests, will be looking to return the prized CASA (Caribbean American Soccer Association) Trophy to the ISSA Headquarters in Kingston, after a rare but not unexpected loss to the home team last year.

While CASA is still smarting from their victory – their first – in the weekend-long, national invitational tournament, others are saying ‘what if?’. The Jamaican juveniles, still the winningest team to date, lost on default, as, instead of the regular U-19 players, the tournament was used by the JFF national U17 selection as part of their camp and preparation for the regional WC qualifying set up.

With the Super Cup, Manning, daCosta, Walker and Ben Francis Cups and the Olivier Shield contests out the way and no WC preps on the schedule, expect to see a more competitive team from ‘back home’ where high school soccer is a semi religion, a fact not lost on (Jamaican) Richard Campbell, the president of CASA.

“We expect a more competitive team from Jamaica this year because last year they were not at full strength, so to speak. They will definitely start as favorites. Fans will enjoy the tournament this year with the likes of Chivas USA, West Florida Flames (WFF) and Barbados, among the invitees.”

Campbell, whose second bid for a seat on the Lauderhill City Commission (local government) again fell short on November 8, told the Gleaner NA that there is more at stake than just the hardware and accolades.

“The tournament is part of the mission of CASA and that is, to bring together players from the Caribbean Diaspora to compete and learn from each other on a shared field. In addition to the cultural exchange dynamic, the CASA Youth Soccer Classic provides further education and professional opportunities for the players, as both college and professional team scouts are there to do their evaluations, first hand.”

Players from national schoolboy champions Jamaica College (Manning Cup, Olivier Shield), daCosta Cup winners – Cornwall College, Walker Cup winners – Kingston College, Ben Francis Cup holders – Lennon High and Super Cup champions Wolmers’ (Boys), are expected to dominate the selections.

Jamaica, Chivas USA and Plantation will contest pool play from Group ‘A’, while Barbados, CASA Select, Strikers and WFF, will play in Group ‘B’, with the group winners contesting the championship match and the runners up, playing in the consolation final, on Sunday afternoon.

A select team from the neighboring City of Plantation will kick things off against Chivas USA, touted as one of the better youth soccer outfits on the USA’s West Coast, at 6:00 pm, on Thursday. Jamaica opens their account against Chivas USA, on Friday at 9.00 pm, in the last of the day’s triple treat.

The Lauderhill Sport’s Complex is located at 7500 W. Oakland Park Blvd., Lauderhill, Florida 33319. The tournament is free to the public.  

Jamaica’s Team:





    Dr. Walton Small

Mr. George Forbes       

    Mr. Linvern Wright   

Mr. Aston Messam

Mr. Dean Weatherly   

    Mr. Miguel Coley       





  1. Shamar            Jemison        Wolmer’s Boys  

  2. Kenroy            Wallace        St. Elizabeth Tech.



  1. Jahwahni        Hinds            Wolmer’s Boys

  2. Ajeanie         Talbott            Jamaica College

  3. Fitzroy            Cummings        Lennon High

  4. Oquin            Robinson        Jamaica College  

  5. Nickalous        Gayle            St. Elizabeth Tech.

  6. Javain            Brown            Kingston College

  7. Michael        Heaven            Cornwall College



  1. Andrew            Daley            Wolmer’s Boys

  2. Tyreek            Magee            Jamaica College

  3. Alex            Marshall        St. George’s College

  4. Peter Lee        Vassell            Cornwall College

  5. Kwesi             Watts            Lennon High

  6. Fabian            Grant            Kingston College

  7. Chris-Andrew        Dixon            St. Elizabeth Tech.



  1. Creggton        Charlton        Clarendon College

  2. Alphanso        Gooden            Wolmer’s Boys

  3. Duhaney        Williams        Jamaica College

  4. Demar            James            St. Elizabeth Tech.

  • Those in bold will be travelling from Montego Bay