Garvey Maceo High swamped Cross Keys High 11-0, and Cornwall College dismissed Anchovy High 4-2 to lead five more schools into the second round of the ISSA/Wata daCosta Cup football competition with wins in Wednesday’s first round return leg games.

Garvey Maceo, Cornwall College, Pt Antonio High, Cedric Titus High and Manchester High all booked their spots in the next round as 10 of the 32 places in the second round have now been taken. Additionally, Garvey Maceo and Cornwall College extended their winning runs to eight straight victories with wins over Cross Keys and Anchovy High respectively while St Elizabeth Technical also secured Zone E honours.

Gregory Cousins scored four times, and Barrington Blake and Ronaldo Wright scored two goals each as Garvey Maceo thumped Cross Keys and raced to 24 points at the top of Zone M.

Cornwall College beat Anchovy High 4-2 as Aiden Jokomba scored in his third straight game while Solano Birch, Denyu Ricketts and Shaquan Reid also got on the scoresheet as the 12 time champions secured Zone A honours for the fourth time in the last six years.

Cedric Titus High beat Spot Valley High 3-1 to move to 21 points in Zone C ensuring at least second place while Herbert Morrison Technical is second as they rebounded from their loss to the leaders on Saturday to hammer William Knibb Memorial 6-1 in Montego Bay.

Herbert Morrison’s goalkeeper David Gordon scored for the second straight game, this time his long kick from his goal line was severely misplayed by his counterpart Ronaldo Russel as the ball flew over his head and under the crossbar.

Andrew Layne’s eighth goal of the season, scored in the 70th minute, took Port Antonio High to a 1-0 win over Happy Grove as they moved to an unassailable 22 points in Zone L.

Manchester High’s 1-0 win over Belair High was enough as they improved to 22 points and locked up a spot from Zone F. STETHS took Zone E honours after their 5-2 win over Sydney Pagon High as they moved to 22 points, well clear of second-placed Maggotty High who were held 1-1 by Lacovia High while Newell High edged Munro College 1-0.