Paul Clarke, Gleaner Writer – Published: Saturday | September 29, 2012

Western Bureau:

Frome High can take over sole leadership of daCosta Cup Zone B with a victory over struggling Herbert Morrison Comprehensive at Frome Sports Complex today.

Zone leaders Rusea’s High, on 13 points, are idle today following the withdrawal of Merlene Ottey High from the competition. Frome, on 12 points, appear to have an easy task against Herbert Morrison and should be two points ahead of the defending champions at the end of the day.

Cambridge will travel to Green Island in the other game in the zone.

In Zone A, there is a potential cracker-jack of a game looming between Cornwall College and 2008 champions St James, with the former hoping for a win to overturn the stinging 1-0 loss to St James in their first game.

Romario Clarke, who scored the lone goal for St James in that win, is expected to once again lead the charge, while the trio of Shaquille Johnson, Alex McFarlane and Ricardo Wilson should keep things interesting. Green Pond, the third-place team in the zone, will take on Maldon.

Stern test

The Hugh Solomon-coached Muschett who were stopped 1-0 on Wednesday by William Knibb will take on Hopewell with a chance of returning to winning ways, and Holland, who lost 2-0, also on Wednesday at Spot Valley, will face a stern test at home against William Knibb.

An interesting battle is also expected in Zone O with the free-scoring Paul Bogle set to clash with Seaforth for control. The two are first and second, respectively, in Zone O, but Paul Bogle boast a vastly superior goal difference heading into the clash.

Today’s games

Zone A

Maldon vs Green Pond
St. James vs Cornwall College

Zone B

Rusea’s vs Merlene Ottey
Frome vs Herbert Morrison
Green Island vs Cambridge

Zone C

Holland vs William Knibb
Muschett vs Hopewell

Zone D

Grange Hill vs Godfrey Stewart
Manning’s vs Petersfield

Zone E

Lacovia vs Black River
STETHS vs Maggotty
Munro vs Balaclava

Zone F

B.B. Coke vs Manchester
Mile Gully vs Bellefield

Zone G

DeCarteret vs Alston
Holmwood vs Knox College
Christiana vs Spalding

Zone H

Lennon vs Claude McKay
Thompson Town vs Edwin Allen

Zone I

York Castle vs Albert Town
Ocho Rios vs Cedric Titus
Browns Town vs Marcus Garvey

Zone J

Islington vs St Mary High
Oracabessa vs Iona
St Mary Tech vs Brimmervale

Zone K

Tacky vs Ewarton
Dinthill vs Charlemont
Bog Walk vs McGrath

Zone L

Port Antonio vs Buff Bay
Happy Grove vs Fair Prospect

Zone M

Foga Road vs Porus
Glenmuir vs Garvey Maceo
Bustamante vs Denbigh

Zone N

Kemps Hill vs Old Harbour
Central vs Vere

Zone O

Seaforth vs Paul Bogle
Robert Lightbourne vs St Thomas Tech
Morant Bay vs Yallahs