Former champions Vere Technical led the early qualifiers for the ISSA Ben Francis KO as four schools booked their spots on Friday.

Vere Technical who were the first winners of the competition named after their previous principal will be joined by Munro College from the daCosta Cup quarter-finals as well as Edwin Allen High and Christiana High from Group 1.

The second and third-place teams from each of the four groups will contest the Ben Francis KO that starts next month.

Nevaughn Myrie scored two penalties while Omario Walters and Malcolm Lennon scored one each for Vere Tech who outscored Happy Grove 4-3.

Tevonne Miller scored twice for Happy Grove and Jevaughn Thompson got the other to keep the margin close.

Munro College had finished second in the Group after drawing 1-1 with Mannings School.

Edwin Allen was eliminated from the daCosta Cup semi-finals after losing to Dinthill Technical but was second in Group 1 while Christiana High finished third with a 3-2 win over William Knibb Memorial with goals from Omari Brown, Kevaughn Brown, and Dinari Burke.

Mark Lewis and Ricardo Lloyd scored William Knibb’s first goals in the second round.