Defending champions Clarendon College and last season’s semi- finalists Dinthill Technical were winners in their second round first leg ISSA/Wata DaCosta Cup games played on Thursday.

Clarendon College beat Green Pond High 3-1 at Cornwall College while Dinthill Technical who only advanced after Charlemont were docked points by ISSA, edged Central High at Juici Field.

Cornwall College and Frome Technical, the other two semi- finalists from last year, both gave up leads and were held to 1-1 draws by Munro College and Vere Technical respectively.

Tajhay Williams scored twice in the first 17 minutes for Clarendon College who got off to a fast start against a Green Pond team that started slowly but grew in confidence.

Williams scored in the 7th minute then beat goalkeeper Rahjay Campbell with a brilliant free kick 10 minutes later in the 17 th minute. Kevon Lewis pulled a goal back for Green Pond pulled with a diving header just before half time before Clarendon made the scores 3-1 in the 88 th minute when Richard King converted a penalty kick.

Frome Technical led from early after Giovanni Mittoo gave them the lead but Vere Technical equalised late from the penalty spot and at STETHS Kemali Powell shot Cornwall College into the lead in the first half but an own goal late in the game saw both teams share the spoils.

Cornwall College looked to have gone 2-0 up but a header from Powell was ruled offside.

Karim Bryan scored for Dinthill Technical as they beat Central High 1-0 while Manchester High edged St Thomas Technical by the same margin with a first half goal from Tanoi Simpson.

Peteroy Jones and Dwayne Brown scored for Maggotty High in their 2-0 win over Oracabessa in the first game of the double header at the St Elizabeth Technical Sports Complex.

Petersfield came from a goal down to beat William Knibb Memorial 2-1 in a western derby played at Frome while at Juici Field.

At Cornwall College in the first game, Alston High and Anchovy High finished 1-1 thanks to two spectacular goals from Tajae Thomas and Mark Smith respectively.