St Elizabeth Technical is off to a less than stellar start to the ISSA Flow daCosta cup schoolboys’ football competition after being held 1-1 at home by Maggoty High in Santa Cruz on Saturday.

It was the first point Maggotty was ever earning in Santa Cruz and only the second goal they had scored against STETHS in seven years but it was good enough to see them share second place with the hosts, Munro College and BB Coke behind leaders Lacovia High.

Lacovia are leaders after their 3-0 win over Newell High.

Former champions Cornwall College, Clarendon College and Godfrey Stewart are leaders in their zones after comfortable opening wins.

Jourdaine Fletcher scored one of two hat trick at the Montego Bay Sports Complex on Saturday as Cornwall College rolled over Irwin high 8-1 as national under 17 representative Peter-Lee Vassell scored twice near the end of the first half, to double his output from last year.

Joel Sterling scored the first hat trick of the season for Clarendon College to beat Edwin Allen high 6-1 as Seigel Knight got a double for the defending champions.

In Sav la Mar Godfrey Stewart beat Mannings School 2-0 to sit atop Zone D on goal difference over Maude McLeod who beat Little London 2-1.
Thompson Town started on a bright note with a 5-0 spanking of Kellits High.

Green Island and Frome both scored big wins in Zone B; Green Island were 4-0 winners over Merlene Ottey at Pond Side while Frome travelled to south St James to beat Cambridge High 3-0.

Unfancied Mile Gully are the leader in Zone F after kicking six past Winston Jones while Manchester High were 4-0 winners over Cross Keys.

DeCarteret College are also on three points after edging Belair 1-0.


Clarendon College vs. Edwin Allen action
Clarendon College vs. Edwin Allen action

Saturday Results-

Zone A-

Irwin-1 Cornwall College-8

Zone B

Cambridge-0 Frome Tech-3

Merlene Ottey-0 Green Island-4

Zone D-

Little London-1 Maud McLeod-2

Godfrey Stewart-2 Manning’s-0

Zone E

Munro-0 BB Coke-0

Newell-0 Lacovia-3

STETHS-1 Maggotty-1

Zone F-

Cross Keys-0 Manchester-4

Belair-0 DeCarteret-1

Mile Gully-6. Winston Jones-0

Zone G-

Alston-0 Spalding-0

Christiana-1 Knox-1

Bellefield-1 Holmwood-0

Zone H

Clarendon College-6 Edwin Allen-1

Thompson Town-5 Kellits-0

Zone I-

Ocho Rios-0 Marcus Garvey-1

Browns Town vs.Cedric Titus- not played

York Castle-2 Steer Town-1

Zone J-

Brimmervale- 1 St. Mary Tech-2

Tacky-2 St. Mary High-0

Zone K-

Charlemont-0 Bog Walk-2

Ewarton-0 McGrath-1

Dinthill-2. Tacius Golding-1

Zone L

Titchfield-1 Happy Grove-2

Fair Prospect-0. Port Antonio-1

Zone N

Foga Road-0 Vere Tech-3

Central-1 Kemps Hill-1

Zone O

Paul Bogle-2 Robert Lightbourne-0

Morant Bay-1 Seaforth-1